Blog Banner

Wilson forced to make changes for Munster

3rd March 2017

Cardiff Blues have been forced to make four changes for their Guinness PRO12 clash with Munster on Saturday (5.15pm).

With Wales retaining their Six Nations players, Matthew Rees and Aled Summerhill come into the starting line-up for Kristian Dacey and Alex Cuthbert.

Rhys Gill has also been ruled out due to injury, paving the way for Corey Domachowski to start, but Josh Navidi has returned to fitness to pull on the number seven jersey.

The Blues claimed a 24-23 victory over Munster at Irish Independent Park earlier this season but the Limerick-based province have only lost two PRO12 matches since.

The latest of those came against the Scarlets last week and Cardiff Blues head coach Danny Wilson expects a response.

But he insists his side can go into the clash with confidence after two consecutive wins to keep alive their hopes of a top six finish.

Wilson said: “It’s a great challenge to try to secure the double over Munster, something which doesn’t present itself season in, season out, and we have that opportunity over the weekend.

“We targeted three wins out of four games. We slipped up in the first game against Connacht at home, which has put a bit of pressure on this last one against Munster. 

“Now we really want to achieve that goal and objective to give ourselves the opportunity to be in that top six. 

“We know it’s tight and tough to stay in touch with the top six but we remain motivated to finish the season in that position.

“We’ve dropped one or two games at home which we’ve been really disappointed with when compared to last season, but we’ve certainly improved our away record and the Edinburgh game resembled that. 

“There was a big commitment and fight from the boys to get over the line and hopefully we can carry that into a big game against Munster.”

Lloyd Williams remains captain for the clash, while fellow Edinburgh try-scorer Sion Bennett drops to the bench.

There is also a return to the match-day 23 for Wales Under-20s star Rhun Williams following his heroics against Scotland Under-20s last week.

Cardiff Blues: Matthew Morgan; Aled Summerhill, Willis Halaholo, Steven Shingler, Tom James; Gareth Anscombe, Lloyd Williams (capt); Corey Domachowski, Matthew Rees, Anton Peikrishvili, George Earle, Jarrad Hoeata, Macauley Cook, Josh Navidi, Nick Williams

Replacements: Kirby Myhill, Marc Thomas, Taufa'ao Filise, James Down, Sion Bennett, Tomos Williams, Garyn Smith, Rhun Williams

The following players were unavailable for selection:

Rey Lee-Lo
Brad Thyer
Josh Turnbull
Lewis Jones
Dan Fish
Dillon Lewis
Ellis Jenkins
Gethin Jenkins
Blaine Scully
Rhys Gill
Alex Cuthbert
Kristian Dacey
Scott Andrews
Sam Warburton