Blog Banner

Warburton and Cuthbert to face England

8th March 2016

Wales have named an unchanged starting XV to face England at Twickenham on Saturday (KO 16:00) - with Cardiff Blues duo Sam Warburton and Alex Cuthbert starting the huge Six Nations clash.

There are three changes on the bench with Paul James, Luke Charteris and Rhys Webb coming into the match day squad. James replaces Gethin Jenkins who continues to recover from a calf injury but has been re-integrated back into training.

Charteris has come through training positively following his knee injury and returns to the side and Webb, who was called into the squad earlier this week, is also named as scrum-half cover.

Front-row trio Rob Evans, Scott Baldwin and Samson Lee pack down for a fourth consecutive RBS 6 Nations match together.

In the second row Bradley Davies and Alun Wyn Jones, who boast more than 150 international caps between them, continue their partnership and it is an unchanged back row of Dan Lydiate, Sam Warburton and Taulupe Faletau.

Man of the match against France, Gareth Davies and Dan Biggar continue at half-back with Jamie Roberts partnering Jonathan Davies in midfield. Cuthbert, George North and Liam Williams are named as the back three.

Wales team to play England: Liam Williams (Scarlets), Alex Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues), Jonathan Davies (ASM Clermont), Jamie Roberts (Harlequins), George North (Northampton Saints), Dan Biggar (Ospreys), Gareth Davies (Scarlets); Rob Evans (Scarlets), Scott Baldwin (Ospreys), Samson Lee (Scarlets), Bradley Davies (Wasps), Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys), Dan Lydiate (Ospreys), Sam Warburton (Cardiff Blues, CAPT), Taulupe Faletau (Newport Gwent Dragons).

Replacements: Ken Owens (Scarlets), Paul James (Ospreys), Tomas Francis (Exeter Chiefs), Luke Charteris (Racing 92), Justin Tipuric (Ospreys), Rhys Webb (Ospreys), Rhys Priestland (Bath Rugby), Gareth Anscombe (Cardiff Blues).