Blog Banner

Toyota Cheetahs 31 - 32 Cardiff Blues

4th August 2012

Blues record historic win in South Africa.


Having had a good week of preparation and training in South Africa, Cardiff Blues Director of Rugby Phil Davies selected a first half and second half side for the match against the Toyota Free State Cheetahs. The team was captained by South African, Andries Pretorius.

The Cheetahs scored first with a converted try before the Blues leveled the score with centre Owen Williams scoring and fly half Rhys Patchell converting, before falling behind again to another converted try.

Czekaj got another try for the Blues but again the Cheetahs canceled it out with a try of their own moment later. Patchell converted a penalty to bring the half time score to 191-5

Toyota Free State Cheetahs 19 Cardiff Blues 15

The Blues fielded a new 15 for the second half, giving everyone the opportunity to impress the new coaching team. However, the second half started with another converted try by the Free State Cheetahs. The Blues though were equal to the task with Tom James getting one back and Ceri Sweeney converting just before the hour mark.

The Blues then took the lead for the first time with a try from young second row forward Cook, converted again by Sweeney.

The lead didn’t last long with the Cheetahs again scoring a converted try, however, Sweeney stole it for the Blues in the 78th minute with a well taken penalty.

Sir George Grey Cup Saturday 4 August 2012, Kick-off: 3.00pm
Cardiff Blues
First Half
15. Jason Tovey 14. Tom James 13. Owen Williams 12. Dafydd Hewitt 11. Chris Czekaj 10. Rhys Patchell 9. Lewis Jones
1. Nathan Trevett 2. Andi Kyriacou 3. Benoit Bourrust 4. Macauley Cook 5. James Down 6. Robin Copeland 7. Josh Navidi 8. Andries Pretorius (Captain)
Second Half
15. Daniel Fish 14. Tom James 13. Gavin Evans 12. Gareth Davies 11. Chris Czekaj 10. Ceri Sweeney 9. Robert Lewis
1. Jake Cooper-Woolley 2. Marc Breeze 3. Scott Andrews 4. Macauley Cook 5. Lou Reed 6. Rory Watts-Jones 7. Thomas Young 8. Andries Pretorius (Captain)
Toyota Free State Cheetahs
15 Hennie Daniller 14 Philip Snyman 13 Robert Ebersohn 12 Barry Geel 11 Cameron Jacobs 10 Riaan Smit 9 Piet Van Zyl
8 Davon Raubenheimer 7 Pieter Labuschagne 6 Kabamba Floors 5 Izak Van der Westhuizen 4 Andries Ferreira 3 Marcel Van der Merwe 2 Adriaan Strauss (C)1 Trevor Nyakane
16 Hercu Liebenberg 17 Ross Geldenhuys 18 Waltie Vermeulen 19 Frans Viljoen?20 Sarel Pretorius 21 Sias Ebersohn 22 Andries Strauss