Blog Banner

Six Cardiff Blues selected for Wales summer Tests as Jenkins is named co-captain

8th May 2018

Six Cardiff Blues players have been named in Wales' squad for summer Tests against South Africa and Argentina, as Ellis Jenkins is appointed co-captain for the tour.

The Cardiff Blues flanker will share the leadership role with Cardiff Blues academy graduate, Cory Hill, who now plies his trade with Dragons.

Scrum half, Tomos Williams, is the only uncapped player named in Warren Gatland's 31-man squad, and is joined in the backs by Gareth Anscombe.

In the forward, Josh Navidi is again included following an impressive 12-months on both regional and international levels, while youngsters Seb Davies and Dillon Lewis are also given the nod.

Wales' first Test will be in Washington D.C, where they will face Springboks on June 2 at the RFK Stadium.

They will then travel to Argentina for the first time since 2006,  where they will face two Tests against Pumas on June 9 at San Juan and June 16 at Santa Fe.

Gatland sees the tour as another opportunity to prepare for next season's Rugby World Cup in Japan.

"This summer is a great opportunity for this squad to build on their experience, get test match game time under their belt and face Rugby Championship opposition," said Gatland.

"We have picked a squad of 31 to try and give players as much game time as possible. It shows the depth we have built in recent years that we have just one uncapped player in the squad in Tomos, but he has been in a number of squads so knows the environment well.

"We have picked Cory and Ellis as co-captains, they are both leaders and have experience captaining at regional level so this is an opportunity for them to build on that.

"This summer is another step on our 2019 RWC path and a great opportunity to build on recent campaigns."

Wales Squad – Summer Tour 2018
Rob Evans (Scarlets) (25 Caps)
Wyn Jones (Scarlets) (8 Caps)
Nicky Smith (Ospreys) (18 Caps)
Elliot Dee (Dragons) (7 Caps)
Ryan Elias (Scarlets) (2 Caps)
Tomas Francis (Exeter Chiefs) (31 Caps)
Samson Lee (Scarlets) (38 Caps)
Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Blues) (2 Caps)
Adam Beard (Ospreys) (2 Caps)
Bradley Davies (Ospreys) (62 Caps)
Seb Davies (Cardiff Blues) (4 Caps)
Luke Charteris (Bath) (74 Caps)
Cory Hill (Dragons) (15 Caps) (Co-Captain)
James Davies (Scarlets) (1 Cap)
Ellis Jenkins (Cardiff Blues) (6 Caps) (Co-Captain)
Ross Moriarty (Gloucester) (20 Caps)
Josh Navidi (Cardiff Blues) (11 Caps)
Aaron Shingler (Scarlets) (17 Caps)'

Aled Davies (Scarlets) (8 Caps)
Gareth Davies (Scarlets) (32 Caps)
Tomos Williams (Cardiff Blues) (*Uncapped)
Gareth Anscombe (Cardiff Blues) (15 Caps)

Rhys Patchell (Scarlets) (8 Caps)
Hadleigh Parkes (Scarlets) (55 Caps)
Owen Watkin (Ospreys) (4 Caps)
Scott Williams (Scarlets) (55 Caps)
Josh Adams (Worcester Warriors) (2 Caps)
Hallam Amos (Dragons) (15 Caps)
Steff Evans (Scarlets) (9 Caps)
George North (Northampton Saints) (73 Caps)
Tom Prydie (Scarlets) (7 Caps)