Blog Banner

Seven changes for Cardiff Blues Premiership Select ahead of Leinster clash

20th October 2017

Cardiff Blues Premiership Select have made seven changes for the trip to Dublin to take on Leinster A at Donnybrook Stadium on Saturday. (KO 7.30pm).

Justin Burnell’s side will be looking to bounce back from the 31-7 defeat to Bristol at Sardis Road in the British and Irish Cup opener last week.

Kyle Evans and Lloyd Rowlands are brought into the back three as Dale Stuckey, who scored his side’s only try last week, keeps his place on the wing.

Owen Lane is moved to inside centre, where he partners fellow Cardiff Blues team-mate Harri Millard, with scrum-half Lewis Jones the only other change amongst the backs.

Sean Moore and Ben Murphy continue their partnership in the second row, but Rhys Carre and Kirby Myhill replace Chris Phillips and Ethan Lewis up front, with the latter featuring on the Cardiff Blues’ bench at Toulouse tomorrow.

Will Davies-King, who was named man-of-the-match against Bristol, is again named at tighthead.

Two changes are made in the back-row, with Shane Lewis-Hughes and Osian Davies coming in to replace Hemi Barnes and Morgan Sieniawski, who are named amongst the replacements, while Sion Bennett makes the switch to number eight.

Burnell has been pleased to see the region’s promising youngsters step up to the plate over the past few weeks and has been encouraged by their attitude towards the games.

“When you think of the likes of Will Davies King, Sean Moore, Ben Murphy, Harri Millard, Ben Jones - you’ve got 18, 19, 20 year old kids on the field and that will always be a positive because you want them to come through.

“It’s nice to be back working in that professional environment with a lot of talent, but it was also good to see the disappointment of the boys after last week’s game. They’re don’t just rock up here and think ‘it’s another one of those competitions.’ They want to be a part of it. 

“Leinster always support this competition and put a good hit out so it will be a good level for our boys.”

Joe Page, Tom Mably and Max Llewellyn are included in the matchday squad for the first time in the campaign.

Cardiff Blues Premiership Select: Lloyd Rowlands (Pontypridd); Dale Stuckey (Pontypridd), Harri Millard (Cardiff Blues), Owen Lane (Cardiff Blues Academy), Kyle Evans (Merthyr); Ben Jones (Cardiff Blues Academy), Lewis Jones (Cardiff Blues); Rhys Carre (Cardiff Blues Academy), Kirby Myhill (Cardiff Blues), Will Davies King (Pontypridd), Sean Moore (Pontypridd), Ben Murphy (Merthyr), Shane Lewis-Hughes (Cardiff Blues Academy), Osian Davies (Merthyr), Sion Bennett (Cardiff Blues)

Replacements: Joe Page (Pontypridd), Tom Mably (Cardiff Blues Academy), Hemi Barnes (Pontypridd), Morgan Sieniawski (Pontypridd), Dane Blacker (Cardiff Blues Academy), Ben Thomas (Cardiff Blues Academy), Max Llewellyn (Cardiff Blues Academy)