Blog Banner

Seven Blues named in Wales squad

20th January 2015

Sam Warburton will captain Wales and is one of seven Blues players named in the 34-man squad by Wales today for the forthcoming Six Nations.

The 34-man squad includes four uncapped players, including Cardiff Blues duo Kristian Dacey and Gareth Anscombe, prop Rob Evans and centre Tyler Morgan.

Scott Andrews and Gareth Davies are recalled and join 28 players who were involved in the recent Dove Men Series.

In the front row, former Wales U20 prop Evans, who has impressed in his 17 outings for the Scarlets this season, joins the experienced Gethin Jenkins and Paul James. Hookers Richard Hibbard, Scott Baldwin and uncapped Dacey join Aaron Jarvis, Samson Lee and Andrews completing the front-row contingent.

The second rows remain unchanged from the autumn campaign with Alun Wyn Jones, Jake Ball, Bradley Davies and Luke Charteris all named.

Gatland's back-row options include Ospreys trio Dan Lydiate, James King and Justin Tipuric along with captain Sam Warburton and Taulupe Faletau.

Gareth Davies, who earned his first cap against South Africa last summer, returns from injury to be included along with Mike Phillips and Rhys Webb.

Dan Biggar and Rhys Priestland are joined by Anscombe who is named in a Wales squad for the first time.
Wales' midfield options include British and Irish Lions duo Jamie Roberts and Jonathan Davies along with Scott Williams, Cory Allen and Morgan.

Leigh Halfpenny, Liam Williams, George North, Alex Cuthbert and Hallam Amos are named as the back-three options.


Gethin Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), Paul James (Bath), Rob Evans (Scarlets), Aaron Jarvis (Ospreys), Samson Lee (Scarlets), Scott Andrews (Cardiff Blues), Richard Hibbard (Gloucester), Kristian Dacey (Cardiff Blues), Scott Baldwin (Ospreys), Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys), Jake Ball (Scarlets), Bradley Davies (Wasps), Luke Charteris (Racing Metro), Dan Lydiate (Ospreys), James King (Ospreys), Sam Warburton (Cardiff Blues, Capt), Justin Tipuric (Ospreys), Taulupe Faletau (Newport Gwent Dragons).

Mike Phillips (Racing Metro), Rhys Webb (Ospreys), Gareth Davies (Scarlets), Dan Biggar (Ospreys), Rhys Priestland (Scarlets), Gareth Anscombe (Cardiff Blues), Cory Allen (Cardiff Blues), Jamie Roberts (Racing Metro), Jonathan Davies (Clermont Auvergne), Scott Williams (Scarlets), Tyler Morgan (Newport Gwent Dragons), Hallam Amos (Newport Gwent Dragons), Alex Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues), George North (Northampton Saints), Liam Williams (Scarlets), Leigh Halfpenny (Toulon).