Blog Banner

Robinson named Guinness PRO14 Tackle Machine

21st August 2018

Olly Robinson was named the inaugural Guinness PRO14 Tackle Machine at the 2017/18 awards evening in Glasgow on Monday.

The Cardiff Blues back row, who joined Wales' Capital Region from Bristol last season, received the award following a tackle completion rate of 94.6%. Only those who had completed more than 200 tackles were eligible.

Robinson, who recently captained Cardiff Blues in pre-season friendlies against Leicester Tigers and Exeter Chiefs, was awarded man of the match in the European Challenge Cup final victory over Gloucester, and was on the shortlist for the Cardiff Blues' Players' Player of the Year.

Outside half, Jarrod Evans, was nominated for the Honda Young Player of the Season, which was eventually won by Leinster's Jordan Larmour. 

Evans and team-mates Nick Williams, Josh Navidi and Willis Halaholo were also nominees for the Dream Team of the Season.

Scarlets' Tadhg Beirne, now of Munster, and Leinster's Leo Cullen picked up the main awards of the evening, named as Player of the Season and Coach of the Season respectively.

List of Award Winners
– Guinness Players’ Player of the Season: Tadhg Beirne (Scarlets)
– Guinness PRO14 Coach of the Season: Leo Cullen (Leinster Rugby)
– Honda Young Player of the Season: Jordan Larmour (Leinster Rugby)
– Guinness PRO14 Chairman’s Award: Ed Jackson (Dragons)
– Gilbert Golden Boot Award: Fred Zeilinga (Toyota Cheetahs)
– Guinness PRO14 Dream Team Captain: Callum Gibbins (Glasgow Warriors)
– Guinness PRO14 Top Try Scorer: Barry Daly (Leinster Rugby)
– Guinness PRO14 Tackle Machine: Olly Robinson (Cardiff Blues)
– Guinness PRO14 Ironman: Giulio Bisegni (Zebre Rugby Club)
– Specsavers FairPlay Award: Scarlets

Guinness PRO14 Dream Team 2017/18

The Guinness PRO14 Dream Team was named after over 75 media (including former players and coaches) were involved in the voting. To be eligible players had to have made at least 9 appearances in the 2017/18 season.


Rob Evans – Scarlets
Torsten van Jaarsveld – Toyota Cheetahs
Andrew Porter – Leinster Rugby
Scott Fardy – Leinster Rugby
Tadhg Beirne – Scarlets
Aaron Shingler – Scarlets
Callum Gibbins – Glasgow Warriors CAPTAIN
Jack Conan – Leinster Rugby


John Cooney – Ulster Rugby
10 Rhys Patchell – Scarlets
11 James Lowe – Leinster Rugby
12 Hadleigh Parkes – Scarlets
13 Nick Grigg – Glasgow Warriors
14 Jordan Larmour – Leinster Rugby
15 Blair Kinghorn – Edinburgh Rugby