Blog Banner

Navidi returns from injury ahead of Twickenham test

International | 5th March 2020

Josh Navidi returns from a hamstring injury for Wales' Guinness Six Nations clash against England at Twickenham on Saturday.

The Cardiff Blues back row missed the opening three rounds of Championship action, but is one of four changes made following the defeat to France.

Navidi replaces Taulupe Faletau in the back row, while regional team-mate Tomos Williams is recalled into the starting XV.

The scrum half started the opening two fixtures, scoring a try against Ireland, but featured as a replacement in the defeat to France last time out.

Following an ankle injury to Josh Adams, there is timely return for Scarlets' Liam Williams on the wing. The final change sees Rob Evans introduced at looshead prop.

After a try-scoring display against Les Bleus, Dillon Lewis is retained at tighthead with Cardiff Bleus academy graduate Leigh Halfpenny, now of Scarlets, keeping hold of the number 15 jersey.

Jarrod Evans is named on the bench for the fourth consecutive game after Dan Biggar was passed fit, and is joined by Cardiff Blues product, Rhys Carré.

“We’ve had a good two weeks and we are really excited about heading up to Twickenham for what will be a huge Six Nations clash,” said Wales head coach Wayne Pivac.

“We have had the chance to put the disappointments of the loss to France behind us and we know heading to London we need to be more clinical in attack and convert the opportunities that we are creating.

“Liam’s return to full fitness is a positive after the loss of Josh (Adams), as is the return of Josh Navidi. We have been targeting this game for both of their returns and they have trained really well so it’s a great opportunity for them on Saturday.”

WALES TEAM TO PLAY ENGLAND (Saturday March 7 16.45 ITV & S4C)

15. Leigh Halfpenny (88 Caps)
14. George North (94 Caps)
13. Nick Tompkins (3 Caps)
12. Hadleigh Parkes (28 Caps)
11. Liam Williams (62 Caps)
10. Dan Biggar (82 Caps)
9. Tomos Williams (19 Caps)
1. Rob Evans (38 Caps)
2. Ken Owens (65 Caps)
3. Dillon Lewis (25 Caps)
4. Jake Ball (45 Caps)
5. Alun Wyn Jones (C) (137 Caps)
6. Ross Moriarty (44 Caps)
7. Justin Tipuric (75 Caps)
8. Josh Navidi (23 Caps)


16. Ryan Elias (12 Caps)
17. Rhys Carre (7 Caps)
18. Leon Brown (9 Caps)
19. Aaron Shingler (26 Caps)
20. Taulupe Faletau (75 Caps)
21. Rhys Webb (32 Caps)
22. Jarrod Evans (6 Caps)
23. Johnny McNicholl (3 Caps)