Blog Banner

Four Cardiff Blues named in Wales U18 squad

8th June 2017

Four Cardiff Blues players have been named in Wales U18's 25-man squad for the annual tour to South Africa.

Forwards Alun Lawrence, Joe Miles, Ben Warren and outside half Ben Thomas represent Wales' Capital Region in Geraint Lewis' squad.

Wales will take on South Africa and their 'A' side, as well as facing one of France, Italy or England during August's tour. Further details will be confirmed at a later date.

Gethin Watts, WRU's National Performance Manager said: "One of our main objectives is to further expose our players to high-level opposition in one of the hotbeds of world rugby.

"Selection has partly been based on succession planning for next year's Wales U20 Six Nations squad, but our main objective is always long-term player development."

Cardiff Blues: Alun Lawrence, Joe Miles, Ben Thomas, Ben Warren WRU Exiles: Rhys Davies (Bath), Callum Morris (Lymm College), Morgan Nelson (Gloucester), Tommy Reffell (Leicester) Newport Gwent Dragons: Lennon Greggains, Will Griffiths, Tom Hoppe, James McCarthy, Josh Reynolds Ospreys: Callum Carson, Cai Evans, Harri Morgan, Dylan Moss, Jordan Walters Scarlets: Dan Davies, Rhys Davies, Lewis Ellis-Jones, Llyr Green, Morgan Jones, Tommi Lewis, Thomas Rogers.