Blog Banner

Cardiff Blues youngsters selected for Wales Sevens

16th May 2018

Three Cardiff Blues youngsters have been selected in Wales Sevens' squad for this weekend's Grand Prix Series in Moscow.

The trio includes current academy wing, Corey Howells, who has featured in the Anglo Welsh Cup this season.

Max Cunnington and Jay Jones are also included, having featured for Team GB Sevens Under-18 in Lithuania earlier this month.

Cardiff Blues community coach, Iwan Evans, is also rewarded for his performances for Neath in the Principality Premiership.

Experienced Sevens player, Richie Pugh, will be head coach in Russia, with his side set to take on England, Spain and Italy in the pool stage.

Richie Rees, who is a Cardiff Blues academy coach and worked with Wales Sevens in Hong Kong during the HSBC World Sevens Series earlier this season, is delighted to see the trio been given an opportunity to impress and develop on the circuit.

"We've seen plenty of examples of how sevens rugby can play a huge role in player development, and as a transition coaching team, we could not be more proud to see Corey, Jay and Max been given this opportunity," said Rees.

"‘Sevens certainly tests your skill-set and has been a stepping stone for players to push on to win senior international honors in the 15s game. It can be the perfect platform for managing the transition between academy and senior rugby.

"We'll be keeping a close eye on how these boys progress, and hopefully it can lead to further opportunities in the Cardiff Blues senior side in the future. Ultimately, we thrive on seeing our players fulfil their potential whether that's on the sevens or 15s stage.

"We wish them the best of luck, but the most important thing is that the boys enjoy this experience of playing sevens in a new country, which is crucial for their development both on and off the field."

Wales Sevens: Chay Smith (Newport) Gethin Davies (Scarlets) Afon Bagshaw (c) (RGC) Corey Howells (Cardiff Blues) Toby Fricker (Ebbw Vale) Jacob Flynn (Aberavon) Bevan Howells (Cowbridge) Iwan Evans (Neath) Matthew Powell (Cross Keys) Jay Jones (Glantaf) Mike Wilson (Aberavon) Max Cunnington (Cardiff and Vale College)