Blog Banner

Cardiff Blues under-18 name new-look side to take on RGC

Age Grade & Academy | 25th January 2020

Cardiff Blues under-18 have named a new-look side to take on RGC in the WRU Regional Age Grade Championship on Sunday.

With three games being played in an eight-day period, head coaches Aled James and Craig Everett have opted to make a complete change from the side that racked up a stunning bonus point win over Scarlets earlier this week.

Hooker Corben Evans will captain the side at Parc Eirias, as the young Cardiff Blues side look to keep hold of their spot on the top of the table.

Evans, Rhys Barrett, Jack Dauncey, Will O’Connor, Tyler Morris and Cameron Winnett all step into the starting line-up, having featured as replacements in Llanelli, while try scorer Ellis Fackrell is named on the bench.

The Blues’ under-18 side will host Dragons at Cardiff Arms Park on Wednesday.

Joint head coach, Craig Everett, has full confidence in the side who travel to north Wales, and has challenged the players to give him selection headaches ahead on Wednesday evening.

The former Cardiff and Worcester player said: “We’ve challenged the boys to keep the momentum going.

“We have a tough task Sunday when we travel up to RGC and the boys involved will have an opportunity to do that.

“They would’ve seen what the boys have done in Llanelli, and will have to go up there to match that.

“If we put a good performance up there, we’ll have a headache ahead of selection for next Wednesday. 

“But we’re not looking past RGC first. We’ll travel up there, do a job against them and keep building momentum from game to game.

“Three games in a week can be a difficult turnaround but as a group we’ve selected a bigger squad with 38 to 40 players.

“We have the luxury to change the line-up a little bit and keeping the boys fresh. We’re confident in the boys who will step up, and it gives the other boys an opportunity to recover should they be selected against Dragons next week.”

Cardiff Blues under-18: Cameron Winnett; Chris Thompson, Josh Atkinson, Iwan Johnes, Iwan Pyrs Jones; Tyler Morris, Will O’Connor; Travis Green, Corben Evans (capt.), Rhys Barrett, Alfie Llewellyn, Rhys Dauncey, Dylan Williams, Iestyn Galton, James Roberts

Replacements: Harri Williams, Ellis Fackrell, Jack Dauncey, Will Jameson, Ryan Jenkins, Zak Fifield, Ewan Skuse, Ioan Cooper