Blog Banner

Cardiff Blues Under-16 sides ready for Championship campaigns

21st August 2018

Cardiff Blues North and Cardiff Blues South are set to embark upon their new Under-16 Regional Age Grade Championship campaigns on Wednesday.

Both sides prepared for their competitive fixtures with recent victories over English opposition - Northampton Saints and Bristol - before taking part in last week's Super Series competition at Ystrad Mynach.

Cardiff Blues South recorded two wins from their four fixtures, and will return to Ystrad Mynach to kick off their Championship campaign against Dragons North. (KO 7pm)

Assistant backs coach, and former Cardiff Blues and Wales full-back, Justin Thomas, said, “It has been a valuable experience for the players in their development in learning to manage their decision making and skills under pressure at this RAG level.

"We will be looking, as a coaching team, to further enhance this style of play in helping players in the region make the future progression into the Cardiff Blues Academy and Wales under-18 squads over the next couple of years.”

Meanwhile, Cardiff Blues North racked up two victories, including an impressive 26-7 win over Scarlets West, before they were eventually halted by a defeat to Ospreys West.

However, Lee Davies' side have an opportunity to gain revenge as they welcome Ospreys West to Sardis Road on Wednesday (KO 7.15pm).

Cardiff Blues South to face Dragons North, Ystrad Mynach (KO 7.00pm): Dan Carey; Charlie Edwards, Jack Beynon, Iwan Johnes, David Nzamba; Cian Anderson, Tom Bridge; Finley Giosanu, Ioan McDougall, Jamie Savoury, Lloyd Clarke, Elliot Fowler, Harri Griffiths, Mefin Hopkins, Charlie Jowett

Replacements: Harri Williams, Cai Killen, Kieron Garland, Jacob Rudall, Morgan Jones, Zac Field, Josh Atkinson, Iwan Prys-Jones 

Cardiff Blues North to face Ospreys West, Sardis Road (KO 7.15pm): Cameron Winnett; William Huggins, Iwan Jenkins, Ryan Wilkins, Sam Davies; Ben Burnell, Harvey Nash; Dafydd Davies, Efan Daniel (capt), Rhys Barrett, Danny Perry, Rhys Dauncey, Sam Evans, Cameron McIntyre, Kian Evans

Replacements: Lewis Lloyd, Morgan Jones, Jack Dauncey, Kian Carter, Luke Bradwell, Ryan Davies, Ty Lewis, Amir Saleh